Dr. Dall’Asén awarded Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor Award

November 01, 2023 |

Dr. Dall’Asén awarded Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor Award

Physics professor Dr. Analía “Yanil” Dall’Asén was awarded the 2023 Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor Award by the Undergraduate Research Center (URC) at Minnesota State University, Mankato. This award is presented annually to one faculty member who shows exemplary dedication to undergraduate research, scholarly, and creative activities.

Dr. Dall’Asén was nominated by her research students and selected by URC staff members based on her demonstrated commitment to undergraduate research and outstanding mentorship.

Her research students during the 2022-2023 academic year were Meklit Shiferaw, Oltjona Muça, Jihee Kim, Omar Ghandour, Kristen Rucker and Jeremy Derhaag. Her current research students are Meklit Shiferaw, Oltjona Muça, Omar Ghandour and Ryan Druce.

As the 2023 recipient, Dr. Dall'Asén will serve as keynote speaker for the 2024 Undergraduate Research Symposium.

A group of people standing around a round tableDescription automatically generated

Prof. Dall’Asén (holding the award) with her current research students in her lab. From left to right: Omar Ghandour, Oltjona Muça, Meklit Shiferaw and Ryan Druce.

A group of people posing for a photoDescription automatically generated

Prof. Dall’Asén receiving the award. From left to right: URC Director Patrick Tebbe, CSET Associate Dean Aaron Budge, and CSET Dean Mohammad Alam.