The Sharlin Lab builds vertical teams of Biology MS graduate students and undergraduate students to explore questions related to thyroid hormone action in development. Using a combination of genetic, molecular, and physiological techniques we address these questions.

David Sharlin

David Sharlin

 Principal Investigator



The Lab Lab


Sharlin Lab logo

Michelle Santiago

Biology MS Graduate Student

Michelle's research is investigating a novel thyroid hormone regulated gene in the developing cochlea. Her project is a collaborative effort with Dr. Land's research group.


Prathibha Mangedarage

Biology MS Graduate Student

Prathibha's research is broadly focused on understanding the interaction between thyroid hormone and Igf1 singaling during cerebellum development. Prathibha's work utilizes a genetic model that allows for targeted over expression of Igf1 in the developing brain.

JessicaWimp copy.jpg

Jessica Wimp

Undergraduate Research Assistant

Jessica's research is focused on understanding the degree to which circulating levels of thyroid hormone must be decreased to measure changes in thyroid hormone regulated gene expression.


Jane Sakowicz

Undergraduate Research Assistant

Janes's research is focused on understanding thyroid hormone transporter expression in the developing adrenal gland.


D'Aaliyah Johnson

Undergraduate Research Assistant


Matthew Jensen

Matthew Jensen

Undergraduate Research Assistant

Sharlin Lab logo

Ainslee Hemmen

Undergraduate Research Assistant


Oltjona Muca

Undergraduate Research Assistant


Ellie Cha

Undergraduate Research Assistant

Ellie is working to optimize a genotype PCR reaction for a transgenic mouse line so an internal control can be included. Ellie is part of the Research Apprenticeship Program funded by the Undergradute Research Center.

Sharlin Lab Alumni

Biology MS Graduate Students

  • Maria Uscategui Calderon (2018-2020) - PhD student, Molecular & Developmental Biology at Cincinnati Children's 
  • Madeline Tompach (2017-2019) - PhD student, Molecular & Cellular Biology at University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Alexandra Grond (2017-2019) - Research Associate III, Allergan Inc. Irvine, CA
  • Cari Graber (2015-2017) - Research Assistant, University of Minnesota
  • Shelby Kline (2013-2015) - Director of Clinical Research, Center for Cognitive Health, Portland, OR.
  • Kaleb Short (2013-2015) - Software engineer
  • Richaed Sinn (2012-2014) - Doctor of Dental Medicine degree from Midwestern University

Undergraduate Students

  • Amyah Ockenga (2020-2021)
  • Lauern Krieg (2018-2020)
  • Alexus Lind (2018-2020)

  • Oceanna Valenta (2018-2020 )

  • Nyadak Jock (2018-2020)

  • Marissa Swenson (2017-2020 )

  • Eunwon Kim (2016-2018)

  • Maddy Burant (2016-2018)

  • Anjola Onadipe (2016-2019)

  • Lauren Hesser (2015-2016)

  • Alec Wright (2015-2017)

  • Natalie Moses (2015-2017)

  • Ibrahim Omar (2015-2016)

  • S. Petersen (2014-2018)

  • Anna Rice (2014-2016)

  • Brennan Nygard  (2013-2015)

  • Jon Verdon (2013-2015)

  • Jessa Gute (2013-2015)

  • Abrar Zawed (2013-2015)

  • Cari Graber (2013-2015)

  • Nandita Rahman (2013-2014)

  • Andrew Nicholson (2013-2014)

  • Steven Piroso (2012-2013)

  • Molly Haack (2012-2013)